Pietzcker Logo Pietzcker

Kunst

Printmaking

Like the development of spoken and written language, the invention of paper and printing was a huge step for humankind. Religions spread over countries, various kinds of information could be widely communicated. Over centuries, printmaking techniques emerged, had their primes, were replaced by others. Today, some of them are used mainly or exclusively as artist mediums.

Compared with other visual arts, printmaking shows some special qualities. Asthetically printmaking is connected to drawing and painting while working on the plate can pass into the area of sculpture.
The successful creation of a print especially from several plates might require detailed planning and analysis as well as logistic and experience in handling materials like wood, metal or paper.
A special quality of printmaking is the option to keep single working steps or states which can be reproduced after the works completion, or even can be reworked by re-using old plates as new starting points.

Printmaking has a certain social element – as the reasonable priced multiple naturally refers to a bigger audience, by the fact that the easily reproduced print made printmaking perfectly suited for political expression, and lastly in the places of printmaking, the studios where artists meet and exchange aesthetic and technical ideas.

Making prints means consistently being confronted with new situations and thus being forced to find solutions for new emerging problems. It requires patience and makes the present of meditative moments and the thrilling moment of pulling a first proof. It is fun.

On these pages I present the three printmaking techniques I am mainly using in my own art work: intaglio, woodblock and screen printing.

Intaglio, the printing from metal plates, is a printmaking technique which is deeply connected to the European art history. Here I explain the process of printing a drypoint intaglio.

Woodblock printmaking is one of the oldest printmaking technique. I am cutting and printing my own woodblocks using the technique of the Japanese woodblock print. Very important for that is the Japanese paper. Here I also demonstrate the printing process of a woodblock print by the Japanese technique.

The first (woodblock) prints were done in China. Here I present information about history and technique of the traditional Chinese woodblock print and the Chinese folk art woodblock print. And there is also as an excursion of my short trip into the world of working with Chinese porcelain.

Screen printing is a recent printmaking technique, based on stencilling. Here I demonstrate the process of screen printing. And this is a report on kazazome, a traditional Japanese stencil technique, used for dying fabric and paper.


Art
Art
  Top 

Copyright 2014 Eva Pietzcker  |  Imprint  |  Links  |  General Terms and Conditions

Pietzcker Logo Pietzcker

Kunst

Druckgraphik

Wie die Entstehung von Sprache und Schrift war auch die Entwicklung von Papier und Druck ein signifikanter Entwicklungsschritt der menschlichen Zivilisation. Mit dem Druck von Bild und Wort wurden Religionen verbreitet, Informationen verschiedenster Art konnten in großem Umfang weitergegeben werden. Mit den Jahrhunderten entstanden verschiedene Drucktechniken, hatten ihre Blüte, wurden von anderen Techniken verdrängt und werden heute weitgehend oder ausschließlich zu künstlerischem Ausdruck praktiziert.

Im Vergleich mit anderen bildenden Künsten zeichnet sich druckgraphische Kunst durch spezielle Eigenschaften aus. Ästhetisch verbindet sie viel mit Zeichnung und Malerei, wobei die Plattenbearbeitung in den Bereich der Plastik übergehen kann.

Das Gelingen einer Druckgraphik speziell von mehreren Platten kann Planung und Analyse voraussetzen sowie Logistik im technischen Bereich beim Umgang mit Material wie Holz, Metall oder Papier.

Anders als bei Malerei und Graphik können in der Druckgraphik Arbeitsschritte auch noch nach der Vollendung der Arbeit einzeln nachvollzogen und eventuell durch Verwendung bestehender Platten als neuer Ausgangspunkt bearbeitet werden.

Druckgraphik hat außerdem ein spezielles soziales Element – einerseits in der Tatsache, dass sich das preisgünstige Multiple immer an ein größeres Publikum gewendet hat und wendet, weiter dadurch, dass Druckgraphik sich natürlicherweise zu politischem Ausdruck eignet und schließlich auch in den Orten, an denen Druckgraphik entsteht, den Werkstätten, wo gewöhnlich mehrere Künstler/innen zusammenkommen und sich austauschen.

Druckgraphik zu machen heißt immer wieder in neuen Situationen zu stehen und neue Lösungen finden zu müssen. Geduld ist eine Vorraussetzung, das Geschenk sind meditative Momente. Immer dabei ist das Element der Spannung und die Überraschung beim ersten Andruck. Druckgraphik macht Spaß.


Auf diesen Seiten stelle ich die drei Drucktechniken Radierung, Holzschnitt und Siebdruck vor, mit denen ich selbst viel arbeite.

Die Radierung, das Drucken von Metallplatten, ist eine tief mit der europäischen Kunstgeschichte verbundene Drucktechnik. Hier erkläre ich den Druck einer Kaltnadelradierung anhand von Fotos.

Der Holzschnitt ist die älteste Drucktechnik. Meine eigenen Holzschnitte schneide und drucke ich nach der Technik des japanischen Holzschnitts, die ich hier vorstelle, zusammen mit der japanischen Papierherstellung. Ich zeige außerdem den Druck eines Holzschnitts nach der japanischen Technik.

Die Anfänge der Druckgraphik liegen in China. Ich stelle hier die Geschichte des chinesischen Holzschnitts und seine traditionelle Technik vor, sowie den chinesischen Volkskunst-Holzschnitt. Ich zeige auch meinen Ausflug zum Arbeiten mit Porzellan in einer chinesischen Keramikwerkstatt.

Der Siebdruck ist eine jüngere Drucktechnik, entwickelt aus dem Prinzip der Schablone. Ich zeige hier die Entstehung eines Siebdrucks anhand von Fotos. Und hier ist ein Bericht über die traditionelle japanische Schablonentechnik Katazome.

 


Kunst
Kunst
  Top  

Copyright 2017 Eva Pietzcker  |  Impressum  |  Links  |  AGB